Showing posts with label TTC over 20. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TTC over 20. Show all posts

05 July 2013

Overwhelmed

I apologize in advance if this post makes no sense - my brain is all kinds of jumbled right now.  Also, be warned that this post is pretty much all about AF, so if you want to avoid a TMI-fest, move on now.

Last weekend, I noticed that I had started spotting, which was absolutely amazing to me - it's been so long since I've started AF without the help of Provera.  On Monday night, the spotting was a little heavier, and by mid-day Tuesday, I was certain that AF had finally arrived - it definitely seemed like a full flow.  I called the clinic, and because of a long workday on Wednesday and the holiday on Thursday (which would be CD3, when I typically have the baseline), it was decided that I would come in for the last appointment on Tuesday (on CD1) for my baseline ultrasound.  My ultrasound came back normal, I talked with a nurse about setting up an appointment for my HSG, and my RE gave me a lot of information about injectables, because I'm starting those this cycle (holy shit).  It was a lot of information to take in, and I'm surprised I didn't completely break down when we got to the car.  Instead of turning into a sobbing mess, I turned to my BFF the Internet for support from my friends who have gone through or are currently going through infertility treatments, and to research the least expensive supplier of injectables.  (Spoiler Alert:  injectables are expensive everywhere.  The best choice I found was Walgreen's Specialty - after enrolling in the Design Rx program, the cost will come to $254.  My second choice was Freedom Fertility, at $256.)

On Wednesday, I got a call from one of the nurses letting me know when my HSG had been scheduled (next Wednesday at 10:45), and I used that opportunity to ask about my cycle being wonky.  I explained that I was only spotting again, that I only briefly had full flow, and that I was confused about what was happening.  She told me that sometimes it's normal for AF to start, then stop, then start again, so I should just wait it out, and if there was no increase by Friday, give them a call again to figure out what's next.

Because I am clearly cursed, there was no change over the last couple of days.  Still just spotting, and barely that.  I called this morning to talk to a nurse, and she said just go ahead with things as planned (although now the medications will all be pushed back a day).  So that was the plan ... until I got a phone call from my clinic this afternoon.  She said that my RE has requested a blood pregnancy test to make sure that all of our bases are covered (even though the odds of that being the cause of this stupid, semi-non-existent AF are slim to none).  Unless I hitchhike, that's going to have to wait until tomorrow.

When we started with treatments over a year ago, I knew that things weren't going to be easy.  What I didn't expect was that things would become so damn complicated.  I'm ready for everything to fall into place ... any day now would be perfect.

25 June 2013

Three Calls, That's All

Infertility sucks big time, but it has been helpful in improving my life skills, so I guess that's a bonus (not really).  I have become a phone call ninja - I used to panic when I had to call the doctor's office to make appointments or ask questions, but now I'm kind of a pro.  #humblebrag

When I left off last week, I was waiting for more information from my doctor's office regarding the cost of the HSG.  My doctor's office was amazing at getting back to me about my request - an hour or so after I sent the message, I got one in return that provided the customer service number to call to get an estimate and the CPT code to help get more information.  And this is where the fun started (if you call confusion and multiple phone calls fun) ...

It took 3 calls to my clinic's customer service to finally get my information passed on to the estimate department (it was ridiculous - 2 out of the 3 representatives I talked to had no idea what they were doing), but once they had my information, the turn around was really quick.  I talked to the estimate department representative yesterday morning - all I can say is I'm not looking forward to the bill after the procedure.  Of course that's in addition to the injections that I'll be adding in to the process when the HSG comes back clear  ... BUT we can't even get to that step until AF finally shows up, which doesn't seem to be happening any time soon.  I still have a week and a half before I'm supposed to call to ask for the Provera, and then 10 days of pills, and then AF, and by the time it's all over, we'll have missed the entire month of July.

I feel like I say it all the time, but I've been trying to be less of a bitter Betty - not very successfully, unfortunately.  There are a lot of positive things that I could focus on, but the easier choice has been to be angry or depressed.  We spent last Saturday at the ballpark (snooze) with B's parents, and I had kind of a nice chat with my mother-in-law about all of the crap we're going through.  She went through fertility treatments when they were trying to have B, so she understands - to a degree - what it's like, which is really nice (especially considering that my own mom doesn't get it - at all.  And I don't have the patience or brain power to explain this never-ending nightmare to her again and again ... and there's the anger and bitterness creeping back).  We also have some really great friends, in real life and online, who are so supportive - we're really lucky to have so many amazing people on our side, and I need to work on being more grateful for them and focus on the positive, rather than focusing on the negative all the time.  I'm a work in progress.

09 June 2013

Roller Coaster

I really would like to be done with this stupid emotional roller coaster now.

Thursday, I was having an awesome day until I got the phone call.  I spent Friday crying off and on all day, completely devastated.  Saturday's appointment had me hopeful again - follicles were more developed on CD14 than in previous cycles, and I had lovely triple layer lining.  And then ... I woke up this morning, and although I haven't gotten the official word from my doctor's office, I'm pretty sure this cycle is a bust.  My E2 came back at a whoppin' 19.  Nearly nothing.  For two 12mm follicles.  I'm crushed.  I'm expecting a call from the clinic tomorrow to make plans for what comes next.  Yesterday, the plan was to come in for another date with the vag cam if my E2 was decent, and if it was a little low, the appointment would be bumped to Tuesday.  With it coming back so low it's barely on the charts, I don't know what the plan will be, and it sucks.

I spent an hour this morning laying in bed consulting Dr. Google, which didn't help very much.  I was hoping maybe somewhere I would find someone with a similar experience saying they added in new meds mid-cycle that helped.  Or maybe that they started taking a supplement that improved their E2.  I didn't find those things, and now I have to wait until tomorrow morning to find out where my life is going this week.

B has been such a rock star husband through a lot of this, and I don't tell him that enough.  He's becoming really good at saying the right things at the right time (which never really was his forte before).  I'm also lucky enough to have an amazing friend who I can vent my frustrations to, knowing that she understands 100% and she's not going to say something stupid, like "just relax."  I'm soooo looking forward to our Skype date later this week - I need some perspective.

To finish this off, I'm sharing this video that I came across a while back.  I have heard pretty much every single one of these gems a million times in the last 2 years, and it never stops being annoying.


P.S.  I think I need to send this video and this link about IF etiquette to so many people I know (like my mom).  It's great information.

02 June 2013

Quickie

I have a few more substantial drafts simmering on the back-burner, but I haven't had the time or motivation to actually finish and publish them yet.  Hopefully those will be ready soon, but in the meantime, I have a quick TTC update.

Wednesday afternoon, I had my baseline ultrasound (it was CD4) and I was given the all clear, allowing me to start the Letrozole right away.  On her way out of the exam room, my RE asked how I was doing on the Metformin, which really confused me - I've never been on Metformin.  After I explained that to her, she said that if this cycle doesn't work out, then next cycle we'll add Metformin to the cocktail, and that was the end of the appointment.  Tonight will be my last dose of the Letrozole, and so far I haven't noticed much - maybe a few twinges here and there ... I don't know.  I really hope that I have a decent reaction to the Letrozole - this is getting exhausting.  I just want things to work out for once.

Aside from that, it's been a sad week - a close friend of mine got some really devastating news at the beginning of the week, and my heart hurts for her.  If you could spend a minute to send prayers or vibes or whatever you're into, it would be very much appreciated.  <3

27 April 2013

Stuck

I think that's the best way to describe how I've been feeling lately.

I think in my last TTC update (which was posted forever ago), I was dealing with a canceled cycle.  And that canceled cycle lasted 65 days.  This time around, I took 150mg of Clomid, which helped me grow 2 nice looking follicles.  On CD12, they were 15.9mm and 15.3mm.  But then my estradiol results came in super low.  I went back on CD16 in the hopes that my estradiol had increased, but of course, that wasn't the case.  Another canceled cycle to add to the list.  So now I'm in a different kind of 2 week wait - the one were I sit around waiting until I can call and ask for my Provera prescription (because it's very unlikely that AF is going to show up naturally), and then we can move onto the next cycle.  I'm looking forward to the next cycle - the plan is to try Femara this time, and I'm really hoping that it works out better than the Clomid.

I've been really stuck at work too (which is a topic that I try to avoid bringing up around here).  I've barely been tolerating my job for a while, but I've finally come to accept that this job is never going to be satisfying to me, I'm never going to advance, and I'm done trying to fight to make this job something it's not.  I'm starting to feel like my brain is mush-ifying.  A while back, I was seriously looking into going back to school for my Master's degree, but then decided to put it off.  It's expensive, we have a bunch of student loans that need to be paid off, it's time consuming, and we were just starting to try to get pregnant, so the timing wasn't right.  And now, with the fertility treatments, it's even less of an option - the timing isn't right again, so of course this is the time that I'd start thinking about going back to school again.  I'm hoping that I'll be able to find some kind of alternative to appeal to my academic side that's a bit less expensive, that way I can exercise my brain without breaking the bank.  We'll see what happens.

So yeah, that's what's been going on lately.  Fun times :)

22 March 2013

27

Yesterday was my 27th birthday, and even though I’m not a fan of getting older, it was one of my favorite birthdays (number one is my 25th - it wasn’t really even because we did anything special, but we were in Atlanta on our delayed honeymoon, and it was just really nice to be on vacation with my hubster on my birthday).

B really spoiled me in the gift department this year. He bought us tickets to see Wicked, The Sims 3: University Life expansion pack, and - the ice cream on the cake - an iPad mini and a keyboard case. Seriously - so spoiled. Coming up with gift ideas for his birthday this June is going to be exponentially more difficult (which sucks, because buying B gifts is super difficult in the first place). Even though I am a grown-ass woman, I was also spoiled by my mommy. I sent her links to iPad cases as a joke, and she ended up buying me my favorite one. I’m seriously so lucky to have such an amazing family.

B and I were able to go out to lunch together yesterday - he took a midday break to take me to the clinic for a blood draw (blood pregnancy test before being prescribed Provera - negative, obviously). I love spending time with him, so it was really special to spend a little extra time with him.

After I got home from the clinic, the internet gave me a birthday gift too. The 98th episode of The Lizzie Bennet Diaries was posted on YouTube, and *spoiler alert* Lizzie and Darcy kissed. Ahhhh! It was great. I loved reading Pride and Prejudice in high school (I’ve read it probably 3 or 4 times by now, not including reading the trade of the Marvel comic adaptation), so I became very fond of the web series after only a couple of episodes. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries is such an awesome web series - the adaptation of the classic story into a modern, web based story is done so well … I highly recommend it. (Thanks to Felicia Day for featuring LBD on The Flog and turning me into an obsessed fangirl.)

One of the final highlights of my birthday was something that was kind of dumb, but it’s the little things that make me happy. I was bumped up to level 27 on The Simpsons: Tapped Out on my 27th birthday (justju21 if you want to add another neighbor-eeno). Pretty cool. :)

So yeah, that’s what’s been happening around here lately (along with a whole lotta nothing). I’ve had the urge to write lately, but I haven’t had anything to say. Hopefully something exciting comes up soon so I can get back to regular updates.

27 February 2013

Canceled

This cycle was officially canceled on CD22 (last Friday).  I went in Friday morning for a blood draw to check on my estradiol level - it was low on CD13, still low on CD16, slightly higher on CD18, and then plummeted again on CD22.  It never broke 100, which was definitely not a good sign.  My wimpy E2 has been the bane of my existence for a few months now.  I actually remembered to ask my NP if there was anything that could be done to help it improve, but she said the only way to help it would be to increase my Clomid dose next round and hope that my follicles grow faster.  Yay.

So now we’re pretty much back to square one, which totally sucks.  I have to admit, I wasn’t really feeling this cycle - it just didn’t feel the same as the ones when I actually did ovulate.  I was super surprised at my mid-cycle scans when we saw 2 growing follicles - I wasn’t expecting to see any good one, but of course they had to fizzle out and be disappointing, as usual.  At this point, I’m surprised when something good happens rather than the opposite.

Regardless of my low expectations, I’m still bummed that this cycle was such a waste.  We’re getting down to the wire - if I have a cycle in March, it will be our last chance to have a baby in 2013.

I like even numbers better anyway … :)

14 February 2013

Frustrated

With everything that’s going on right now, I could really use a win.  Unfortunately, I don’t see that happening any time soon.

On Saturday, B took our Prius to the dealership because we had gotten some recall notices.  Of course they found $1,200 worth of things that needed to be fixed up, including a $400 water pump that needed to be fixed immediately.  Awesome.  (The rest of that stuff includes some stupid things like replacing the spark plugs, so we’re going to put that off for a little while.)  As much as I love our Prius, I’m really tempted to just sell it.  I don’t want to deal with paying a bunch of money for all of that junk, we only use it on the weekends because B has a company car and I don’t drive … we could use the extra money from our car payment every month to pay student loans or improve the house … We’ll see what ends up happening with it.

After B finally got home from the dealership in his rental car, we took our cat to the vet.  She had a hernia on her left side from the day we picked her up from the humane society, and there was a new lump that had formed in front of the prior one, which worried us.  Our plan was for her to have surgery to have these problems fixed - she was dropped off Monday night, had surgery Tuesday afternoon, and she came home yesterday afternoon.  The surgery was more complicated than they had expected (both lumps were indeed hernias, but there’s a third that goes into her chest cavity.  It’s blocked off by some connective tissue that acts as a fat storage area, so we shouldn’t have to worry about it, but it’s something for us to keep in mind if she ever starts acting “off.”  Some of the connective fatty tissue was removed from the 2 hernias on her left side.)  She looks so sad and pathetic.  (They didn’t clean her up very well post-op, so she’s going to need a sponge bath eventually.  Maybe when she’s feeling a little better in a few days.)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I haven’t seen her eat or drink anything since she came home, but she’s used the litter box, so I guess that’s a good sign.  I think the cone on her head is part of why she’s so mopey.  It can’t be fun.  She’s only had a partial dose of her pain medication - she fought really hard when I tried to give her a dose last night.  The girl hates medicine.  We have to take her back to the vet in a week and a half to have the staples removed, so I’m sure that will be a fun adventure also.

Before we picked the cat up from the vet’s office yesterday, we went to my clinic for my mid-cycle follicle scan.  This time, there were 2 follicles, but they were only 13mm and 12mm (on CD13).  I have another ultrasound appointment on Saturday (CD16).  I’m not sure how that’s going to go though, because the results from my E2 draw yesterday SUCKED.  We were looking for a 200 range, and my result was 56.  I’m so frustrated.  I really thought that being on the double dose of Clomid was going to make this cycle better.  Wrong again.  Urgh.  Hopefully I’ll have a chance to talk to my NP before the appointment on Saturday and we can figure out a way to help those numbers improve (if that’s even possible).

I kind of feel bad that I’m not in a very good mood on Valentine’s day.  I didn’t do anything special for either of my classes - I didn’t have the energy.  B and I don’t have anything too crazy planned for tonight either - we decided our lunch out yesterday would count as our special Valentine’s dinner, and we text messaged each other funny Valentine cards this afternoon - good enough for me.

Hopefully things start getting better soon … that would be nice.

12 January 2013

Happenings

Project 365 - I decided to start taking a photo a day to help with my resolution to take more pictures.  I’ve been using the Project 365 iPhone app to keep myself on track.  I started out doing really well, but after a week or so, I started slacking (no surprise there).  It’s hard to remember to take a picture every single day, and some days, there’s really nothing photo worthy going on - it’s a challenge.  We’ll see how long I manage to stick with this project.

The Simpsons: Tapped Out - I am addicted to this game.  B and I started playing at the same time, and even though this isn’t a competitive game, I can’t help but check in on B’s progress (and get jealous when he’s doing better than I am).  Typically, he’s ahead of me in XP and levels up before I do, and I’m ahead in tasks and buildings.  (If you play the game and want to add another friend, my username is JustJu21)

TTC - It’s looking like this is going to be another long cycle that will only end with the help of medication.  Boo.  I’m going to call my NP’s office Monday morning to update her on things, and I’ll probably get another prescription for Provera and then move onto my 3rd monitored Clomid cycle.  As much as I’m glad to have the added insight provided by the monitored cycles, it’s kind of a pain in the ass.  Please, please, please ute and ovaries … do your damn job already!

Things have been quite mellow around here lately for the most part, which is fine with me.  A little more progress in the TTC department would be appreciated, but otherwise, I can’t complain.

03 January 2013

Kicking off the New Year

So far, 2013 has not been too great.

On New Year’s Eve, I went for my 3rd estradiol draw in a span of 5 days, and my NP called with my results a few hours later - it was even lower than my first draw - the follicle that we thought would lead to ovulation was no good.  Another disappointment.  Next cycle will be the same routine of ultrasounds and blood draws. My Clomid dosage is being increased to 100mg this time around.  We’ll see if that’s what I need.

On New Year’s Day, B woke up and noticed our house was extra cold - the furnace broke.  We thought it was just the ignitor - we have to replace it every couple of years - but we were wrong.  After calling a company that had emergency service, we found out that the problem was actually with the heat exchange, aka much more difficult and expensive to fix than an ignitor.  Of course.  So we were without real heat all day on New Year’s Day, with only 2 small personal heaters and one larger personal heater (and plenty of layers and blankets) to keep us warm.  Luckily, the repairmen were able to get the part that we needed fairly quickly, so our furnace was fixed yesterday morning (thank goodness).  The estimate for the bill was $200-500 (we weren’t billed right away because the part that was replaced should be partially covered under a limited warrantee or something like that) - I’m not looking forward to getting that bill in the mail.

To top it all off, I had to go back to work yesterday after 13 glorious days off, and I walked into the same drama and bad attitudes that I left 2 weeks ago.  I was hoping to have a fresh start with the new year - that was wishful thinking.  I’m going to try and stress less about the things that are beyond my control (like the behavior of my co-workers, boss, and students) … maybe I can bring about the change that I desperately need in my work situation.  At the very least, I can look forward to a vacation day in a few weeks.

This year is not starting out the way I hoped it would - that just means it can only get better from here … right?!

10 December 2012

Bust

I didn’t even make it to my test date.  Stupid AF decided to show up early - ugh.  I called my NP’s office right after I got done with work this morning, and I’m assuming I’ll get a call back at some point today to set up a CD3 baseline ultrasound, and then I’ll start the whole process over again.  Yay.

Ugh, I really was hoping that this was it.  On to the next …

05 December 2012

Today is 6DPO.  I think.

Last week on Wednesday and Thursday, my CBEFM did something amazing - it gave me a peak reading.  I had positive OPK’s those days as well.  Words can’t even describe how shocking that was to me.  I went in to the clinic on Thursday for the hCG trigger just to be sure … my fingers are crossed.

My current plan is to test on the 13th (that should be long enough for all of the trigger to be out of my system).  I’m hoping the next week goes quickly.  I have some things planned to keep me busy - Friday night will be our 6th consecutive game night held at our house, and my sister-in-law and a good friend are coming up to do some holiday baking this weekend.  At the very least, the next few days should pass quickly … the four days after that will be the worst.

As far as my intuition goes … I have no inkling either way.  Maybe after another few days it’ll kick in.